(Registered under the Societies Registration Act XXI 1860)

The Society was founded in 1973 with the following objectives:

  1. To promote knowledge and research in vegetable crops and to advance the cause of Vegetable Science in India.
  2. To encourage closer relationship among workers on vegetable crops
  3. To encourage the development of vegetable cultivation and seed production based on scientific and technical knowledge
  4. To hold conferences, symposia and meetings from time to time for exchange of ideas and discussion of advances in knowledge of vegetable crops.
President Dr DP Ray, Bhubaneswar
Immediate Past President Dr G Kalloo, Varanasi
Vice President Dr NK Krishna Kumar, New Delhi
Dr KV Peter, Chennai
Dr Brahma Singh, New Delhi
Dr Nazeer Ahmad, Srinagar
Mr Suresh O Agrawal, Jalna
Secretary Dr B Singh, Varanasi
Joint Secretary Dr Major Singh, Varanasi
Treasurer Dr RN Prasad, Varanasi
Dr NC Gautam, Chitrakoot
Dr SNS Chaurasia, Varanasi
Dr ML Chadha, Hisar
Dr AT Sadashiva, Bengaluru
Dr Balraj Singh, Jodhpur
D. Nirmla Devi, Thrissur
Dr AK Pandey, Passighat
Dr Jitendra Singh, Raipur
Dr AK Singh, Ranchi
Dr N Vijaya, Hyderabad
Dr AS Dhatt, Ludhiana
Dr V Kanthaswamy, Karaikal
Dr KE Kathiria, Anand
Dr SK Tripathi, Nuziveedu Seeds
Dr BS Tomar, New Delhi
Dr JC Rajput, Nirmal Seeds
Dr Pritam Kalia, New Delhi
Dr RP Gupta, Nasik
Dr PM Singh, Varanasi
Dr SK Malhotra, New Delhi
Dr Arup Chattopadhyay, Mohanpur
Dr Ranvir Singh, New Delhi
Sh Vimal Chawada, VNR Seeds
Editor Dr AB Rai, Varanasi
Joint Editor Dr Nagendra Rai, Varanasi
Board Members Dr DR Bhardwaj, Varanasi
Dr Gyan P Mishra, Varanasi
Dr Pragya, Varanasi
Dr BK Singh, Varanasi
Dr. Sanjeet Kumar, AVRDC, Taiwan
Dr Satya S Narina, Peterberg, USA
Life membership fee (India) is Rs. 5000.00 and Life membership fee (overseas) is $ 100.00.
Vegetable Science is an official publication of the society and is published twice in a year. Annual subscription rate is Rs. 5000.00 (online/soft copy) and Rs. 10000.00 (Hard copy) for Indian institutions, and $ 200 (online/soft copy) for overseas institutions. Communication regarding membership and other business matters should be addressed to the Secretary, Indian Society of Vegetable Science, Indian Institute of Vegetable Research, Post Bag No. 01, PO- Jakhini (Shahanshahpur), Varanasi-221305, UP, India; Tel. 91-542-2635236/37; Fax: 91-05443-229007; E-mail:

ISVS Membership Application Form

Authors Guidelines for ISVS